Monday, 17 December 2007

Christmas Library Opening Hours---Reminder

Don't forget dear readers that the Kevin Street Library Christmas opening hours are as follows:

Christmas & New Year 07/ 08

Mon 17- Thurs 20 December: 9.30am - 5.15pm
Friday 21 December: 9.30am-1.30pm

Saturday Dec 22 - Tuesday Jan 1: Closed (incl.)

Wednesday 2 January: 9.30am - 5.15pm

Normal term hours resume on Thursday January 3rd

Mon - Fri: 9.30am - 9.30pm
Sat: 10am- 5pm

Thursday, 13 December 2007

Role of Nanotechnology in Solar Energy Generation

Prof Shay Curran delivers a free public lecture entitled The Role of Nanotechnology in Solar Energy Generation at DIT today at 4pm.

Existing solar panels are based on inorganic chemistry. They are made of rigid silicon and while effective, giving conversion efficiencies of between 12 and 20 per cent they are very expensive.
Prof Curran is going "organic" in a chemistry sense, producing thin film solar cells combining modified fullerenes suspended in a polymer layer. "We are sticking to the organics because they are much simpler, cheaper and flexible substances," he says. When Curran says flexible he means flexible. He envisages uses such as coatings on tent fabrics where the tent itself provides the electricity, or fabric-like sheets that can be thrown over a roof top to generate electricity for the home. Imagine a beach towel that also powers an MP3 player or a radio powered by the sun.
For the full Irish Times article see:

Tuesday, 11 December 2007

Foresight is a premiere source of news relating to nanotechnology policy, applications and research. Here you can read daily headlines from Nanodot (their blog) and Nanotechnology News.

For nanotechnology news and updates check out Foresight at

Monday, 10 December 2007

Thesis writing

Writing and Presenting Your Thesis or Dissertation? This url links to useful sites for postgrad students focusing on tips and hints on the thesis writing process including:
  • how to start and how to finish

  • reflective writing,

  • different types of research methods

  • vivas and defending your thesis

Friday, 7 December 2007

BMJ full-text online

The British Medical Journal provides free access to original research articles. The full text of all other articles appearing in the print journal is made freely available for one week after publicatio and then again after one year.


Thursday, 6 December 2007

DIT Kevin St Library Hours Christmas/New Year

DIT Kevin St Library hours for Christmas /New Year

Mon 17th-Thurs 20th Dec: 9.30-5.15pm
Friday 21st December: 9.30am-1.30pm.
Sat Dec 22-Tues Jan 1: Closed(incl.)
Wednesday 2nd January: 9.30am - 5.15pm

Please note normal term hours resume on Thurs 3rd January 08:
Monday - Friday: 9.30am - 9.30pm
Saturday: 10am- 5pm

Tuesday, 4 December 2007

Medical imaging techniques

This resource from the Univeristy of Manchester is aimed at bioscience / physics students and focuses on medical imaging techniques. It contains case studies, an interactive quiz and tutorials covering MRI and CT images.